Women’s Tour of California 2015- Stage 2

This year, for the first time, the Tour of California held a three day women’s stage race. The first two stages were held in South Lake Tahoe with the first stage circling the lake. Unfortunately, this was on a Friday so I couldn’t make it. Saturday’s stage started early so I drove over Friday night after work. The hotel I stayed at was full of graduating college students. The hotel was split in two with one half on each side of a road. The drunken students seemed to enjoy shouting back and forth out of the windows to the other side of the hotel. Thanks to them I didn’t particularly enjoy my time in South Lake Tahoe. I was only there for 16 hours, 12 of which I spent listening to them.  I was impressed with their stamina though. After waking up to the shouts all night I was surprised to find them still drinking and yelling when I left for the race at 9 am.

tour of California banner

The start and finish of Saturday’s stage was at Heavenly Resort. The stage was two laps of a 25 mile loop, part of which was out-and-back so I got to see the race four times. I brought three cameras with me for the weekend: my Canon AE-1 for the action and my Yashica Mat and Electro for everything else. Sadly I had to use up the rest of an experimental roll of pushed Ektar in my Canon. I debated just taking it out but it was only half used and I didn’t want to waste that many frames. I now wish I had. I don’t like the color of the shots on the pushed Ektar.

BMW Interview

Cipollini Team Interview Mexico team waiting

Stage 2 on the road…

women's tour of california

women's tour of california

women's tour of california women's tour of california
women's tour of california women's tour of california

women's tour of california

women's tour of california

The climb to the finish and the happy switch to Kodak Portra 400 shot at 320….

women's tour of california

women's tour of california

women's tour of california

women's tour of california women's tour of california

women's tour of california

After the finish, all shots from my Yashica Mat LM….

women's tour of california

women's tour of california women's tour of california women's tour of california

women's tour of california

Leave a Reply

